APM Annual Meeting banner

Home > Annual Meeting > 2014 > Awards


Presented at the 2014 Annual Meeting in Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Thursday, Friday, & Saturday, November 13–15, 2014

For more information about APM's annual awards and the application or nomination procedure for each, please see APM Annual Awards.

Eleanor and Thomas P. Hackett Memorial Award

For distinctive achievements in C-L/PM training, research, clinical practice, and leadership. This is the Academy's highest award.

Lewis Cohen Lewis Cohen, MD, FAPM
Professor of Psychiatry, Baystate Medical Center and Tufts University School of Medicine, Springfield, MA

Following the Awards & Fellowship Convocation luncheon on Friday, Dr. Cohen was presented with the award and was introduced by Joan Berzoff, MSW, Ed. Dr. Cohen's lecture immediately followed: "Fatal Decisions"

Dlin/Fischer Clinical Research Award

For significant achievement in clinical research

Jose Maldonado José R. Maldonado, MD, FAPM
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Stanford University, Stanford, CA

Dr. Maldonado's award was presented Saturday morning, followed by his lecture: "Prospective Validation Study of the Prediction of Alcohol Withdrawal Severity Scale (PAWSS) of a New Scale for the Prediction of Moderate to Severe Alcohol Withdrawal Syndrome"

Research Award

Honoring an individual currently studying psychopathology in the medically ill and recognizing exceptional research and clinical work in the field

Jesse Fann Jesse R. Fann, MD, MPH, FAPM
Professor, University of Washington
Seattle, WA

Dr. Fann was introduced and awarded by Michael Sharpe, MD, FAPM as part of the luncheon on Thursday. Dr. Fann followed with his lecture: "Nervous Breakdown: Depression following Traumatic Brain and Spinal Cord Injury"

Don R. Lipsitt Award for
Achievement in Integrated and Collaborative Care

Recognizing a mid-career psychiatrist currently making substantial contributions to the evolving field of integrated behavioral health.

Jeff Huffman Jeff C. Huffman, MD, FAPM
Director, Cardiac Psychiatry Research Program
Massachusetts General Hospital, Lexington, MA

Dr. Huffman presented an Award Workshop on Thursday afternoon: "Practical Implementation of Inpatient Collaborative Care: A Nuts-and-Bolts Workshop"

William L. Webb Fellowship Awards

Presented by Michael Sharpe, MD, FAPM at the Awards Luncheon Ceremony on Friday

Marra Ackerman, MD
Elie Isenberg-Grzeda, MD, FRCPC
David Kroll, MD
Kathleen Sheehan, MD, DPhil (PhD)

Visiting C-L Professor Awards

Presented by Elisabeth Kunkel, MD, FAPM at the Awards Luncheon Ceremony on Friday

  • Hochang B. Lee, MD, FAPM, visiting Baystate Medical Center/Tufts University School of Medicine
  • James L. Levenson, MD, FAPM, visiting University of Pennsylvania Dept. of Psychiatry
  • José R. Maldonado, MD, FAPM, visiting Cleveland Clinic

Advancement to APM Fellow (FAPM)

Presented by Linda L.M Worley, MD, FAPM at the Awards Luncheon Ceremony on Friday

Pledge of Fellowship

On behalf of the 2014 Fellowship Class, I, _____________, do hereby pledge to the Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine, this November Fourteenth, Two Thousand and Fourteen, that we shall:

Continue to foster Academy objectives for advancing scientific knowledge concerning mind, body, and environment; promote interrelationships through research, education, and practice; and encourage cooperation with other fellow scientists in related disciplines.

Rashi Aggarwal, MD
Andrew Angelino, MD
Patrick Aquino, MD
Maher Ayyash, MD
Pierre Azzam, MD
Sharon Batista, MD
Bradford Bobrin, MD
Ronit Dedesma, MD
Mary Dell, MD, DMin
Lex Denysenko, MD
Anne Gross, MD
Colin Harrington, MD
Damir Huremovic, MD
Scott Irwin, MD, PhD
Laura Kent, MD
David Kissane, MD, MPM
Jennifer Knight, MD
Christopher Kogut, MD
Oladipo Kukoyi, MD, MS

Christopher Kogut, MD
Oladipo Kukoyi, MD, MS
Nnamdi Maduekwe, MD
Cheryl McCullumsmith, MD, PhD
Fremonta Meyer, MD
Leena Mittal, MD
Natalia Ortiz, MD, FAPA
Roberto Ortiz-Aguayo, MD
Jane Rosenthal, MD
Melanie Schwarz, MD
Sanjeev Sockalingam, MD
Kristin Somers, MD
Snezana Sonje, MD
Guitelle St. Victor, MD
Stephen Stern, MD
Junji Takeshita, MD
Adriana Vasquez, MD
Robert Weinrieb, MD
Philippe Weintraub, MD

Dorfman Journal Paper Awards

For the best papers published in Psychosomatics
Presented by Elisabeth Kunkel, MD, FAPM at the Awards Luncheon Ceremony on Friday

Links to articles below are to the abstracts in Psychosomatics, and each opens in a new tab or window.


Neuropsychiatric Conditions Associated With Anesthesia Exposure

Anne F. Gross, MD
Theodore A. Stern, MD


Conflicts Between Consultants and Consultees: Causes, Consequences, and Corrective Actions

John B. Taylor, MD, MBA
Theodore A. Stern, MD, FAPM


Prevalence and Factors Associated with Desire for Death in Patients with Advanced Disease: Results from a Portuguese Cross-Sectional Study

Miguel Julião, MD
António Barbosa, MD, PhD
Fátima Oliveira, RN
Baltazar Nunes, PhD

Honorable Mention Best Original Research Article:
Incidence of Deep Vein Thrombosis in Restrained Psychiatric Patients

Takuto Ishida, MD
Takeshi Katagiri, MD
Hiroyuki Uchida, MD, PhD
Hiroyoshi Takeuchi, MD, PhD
Hitoshi Sakurai, MD
Koichiro Watanabe, MD, PhD
Masaru Mimura, MD, PhD

Best Poster and Best Trainee Poster Awards

Posters are judged just prior to the Thursday evening Poster Session. The Poster Session overlaps the meeting's Opening Welcome Reception. Poster awards are presented toward the end of the Welcome Reception.

Links below to each poster open in a new tab or window where you can view the abstract as well as a PDF of the poster.


First Place:
EEG - Peak Alpha Frequency Correlates in Chronic Fatigue Syndrome: A Case-control Observational Study [poster #85]

Jose Maldonado, MD, FAPM

Second Place:
Use of Dextromethorphan/Quinidine as a Glutamate Modulator in Catatonia [poster #99]

Jason Caplan, MD, FAPM

Third Place:
Formative Evaluation of the LDAT (Living Donor Assessment Tool) Using Case Histories [poster #127]

Akhil Shenoy, MD; and Drs. Dianne LaPointe Rudow, Brian Iacoviello, Zorica Filipovic-Jewell, Kimberly Klipstein


First Place:
Illness Perceptions of People with Chronic Medical Conditions Are Associated with Frequent Use of Accident and Emergency Department Independent of Mental Illness and Somatic Symptom Burden [poster #16]

Thomas Hyphantis, MD, PhD; and Drs. Angeliki Ninou, Vassiliki Paika, Andre Carvalho, Else Guthrie

Second Place:
Concurrent ECT and Bupropion Treatment [poster #112]

Lauren Murphy, MD; and Drs. Takala Christopher, Leung Jonathan, Brian Palmer

Third Place:
Delirium Management: Results from a Nationwide Survey of Consultation-Liaison Psychiatrists [poster #54]

Rachel Shmuts, MD; and Lex Denysenko, MD

Trainee Travel Awards

Presented at the Awards Luncheon Ceremony on Friday

Amritha Bhat, MD
University of Washington

Kathleen Bingham, MD
University of Toronto

Monika Chaudhry, MD
University of Southern California

Julia Edwards, MD, MPH
University of Washington

Sarah Faeder, MD, PhD
Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic

Anna Frenklach, MD
Stanford University

Robin Hanson, DO
Thomas Jefferson University

Heather (Liebherr) Joseph, DO
University of Pittsburgh

Lawrence Kaplan, DO
Brigham and Women's Hospital

Daniel Linhares, MD
Mount Sinai St Luke's

Nasuh Malas, MD, MPH
University of Pittsburgh

Laura McLafferty, MD
Thomas Jefferson University

Anna Piotrowski, MD
University of Chicago

Rajiv Radhakrishnan, MBBS, MD
Yale University

Emily Rosenberger, BA
University of Pittsburgh

to top of page

Home  •  About  •  Join  •  Members  •  News  •  Annual Meeting  •  Career  •  Education  •  Support

© Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine
JavaScript menu courtesy of Milonic.com