APM logo: click to return home Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine
Psychiatrists Providing Collaborative Care Bridging Physical and Mental Health

Home > Awards > Hackett Award

Eleanor and Thomas P. Hackett Memorial Award

How to Nominate

The Eleanor and Thomas P. Hackett Memorial Award is the Academy's highest honor. It is presented to a member who has demonstrated distinctive achievements in C-L/PM training, research, clinical practice, and leadership.

old photo of Thomas P. Hackett
Dr. Thomas P. Hackett, from MGH Psychiatry History

The award was established in 1988 to honor Thomas P. Hackett, Jr., MD, FAPM, professor and chief of the Department of Psychiatry at Massachusetts General Hospital 1974-1988 and president of APM 1987-88. Dr. Hackett was a long-time leader in the field of C-L psychiatry. He died of a heart attack at age 59, two months after he took office as president of APM. The first Hackett award was presented in 1989 to Edwin H. Cassem, MD, FAPM, who also succeeded Dr. Hackett as chief of psychiatry at MGH, 1989-2000.

In 2009 the award was renamed to include Dr. Hackett's wife, Eleanor, who passed away of leukemia in April 2009. "Ellie" had presented the award at the annual meeting almost every year since its inception. She received APM's Special Recognition Award in 2003.


  2016 Donald Rosenstein, MD, FAPM
  2015 Mary Ann Cohen, MD, FAPM
  2014 Lewis M. Cohen, MD, FAPM
  2013 James L. Levenson, MD, FAPM
  2012 James R. Rundell, MD, FAPM
  2011 William S. Breitbart, MD, FAPM
  2010 Donna E. Stewart, MD, FAPM
  2009 Francis Creed, MD, FRCP, FRCPsych
  2008   Theodore A. Stern, MD, FAPM
  2007 Frederik J. Huyse, MD, PhD, FAPM
  2006 Russell Noyes, Jr., MD, FAPM
  2005 Richard Mayou, MD
  2004 Joel E. Dimsdale, MD
  2003 Wayne J. Katon, MD, FAPM
  2002 James J. Strain, MD, FAPM
  2001 Michael K. Popkin, MD, FAPM
  2000 Don R. Lipsitt, MD
  1999 Thomas N. Wise, MD, FAPM
  1998 James S. Eaton, Jr., MD, FAPM
  1997 Alan Stoudemire , MD , FAPM
  1996 George B. Murray, MD, FAPM
  1995 Donald S. Kornfeld, MD, FAPM
  1994 Jimmie C. Holland , MD, FAPM
  1993 Norman B. Levy, MD, FAPM
  1992 Avery D. Weisman, MD
  1991 Zbigniew J. Lipowski, MD
  1990 W. Alwyn Lishman, MD, DSc
    1989 Edwin H. Cassem, MD, FAPM


Eleanor Hackett with 2008 and 1989 award recipients

Eleanor Hackett at the 2008 Annual Meeting in Miami with the recipients of the last and first award she presented: to Theodore Stern (2008) and Edwin "Ned" Cassem (1989). Mrs. Hackett passed away the following April.

     Maryland Pao, Don Rosenstein

Maryland Pao, MD, FAPM, introduced the 2016 Hackett award winner, Donald Rosenstein, MD, FAPM.

Mary Ann Cohen,, 2015 recipient, and J.M. Bostwick, presenter

Mary Ann Cohen, MD, FAPM was introduced by. and received the 2015 Hackett award from, John Michael Bostwick, MD, FAPM.

Lewis Cohen, Joann Berzoff, Linda Worley

Lewis M. Cohen, MD, FAPM received the 2014 Hackett award from President Linda Worley, MD, FAPM (right). Joan Berzoff, MSE, EdD (center) introduced Dr. Cohen..


To recommend a member for the Hackett Award, please e-mail the name of your nominee with the reasons for your nomination directly to the Chair of the Fellowship & Awards Subcommittee by April 1.

Home  •  About  •  Join  •  Members  •  News  •  Annual Meeting  •  Career  •  Education  •  Support

© Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine
JavaScript menu courtesy of Milonic.com