APM logo: click to return home Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine
Psychiatrists Providing Collaborative Care Bridging Physical and Mental Health

Home > Awards > Research Award

Wayne Katon Research Award

How to Apply or Nominate

The Wayne Katon Research Award honors an individual currently studying psychopathology in the medically ill and is intended to recognize exceptional research and clinical work in the field. The recipient is asked to give a 45-minute lecture at the Academy’s fall scientific meeting. The award covers the recipient’s costs to attend the meeting and an additional unrestricted monetary award.

Wayne Katon, in 2010At the Academy's 2015 scientific meeting, the former APM Research Award was renamed in the spirit and memory of Wayne J. Katon, MD, FAPM, a dedicated clinical researcher and pioneer in collaborative care who passed away March 1, 2015. Dr. Katon received the Academy's highest honor, the Eleanor and Thomas P. Hackett Memorial Award, in 2003 and was president of APM 2012-2013. For more information about Dr. Katon's notable career and contributions, see the In Memoriam by Dimitry S. Davydow, MD, FAPM, and Jürgen Unützer, MD, in the May-June 2015 issue of General Hospital Psychiatry, of which Dr. Katon was editor-in-chief.

2015 Kimberly Yonkers, MD
2014 Jesse R. Fann, MD, MPH, FAPM
2013 Brett Thombs, PhD
2012 Scott Kim, MD, PhD
2011 Andrea F. DiMartini, MD, FAPM
2010 Bruce L. Rollman, MD, MPH
2009 Jürgen Unützer, MD, MPH
2008   Kurt Kroenke, MD
2007 François Lespérance, MD
2006 Mary Amanda Dew, PhD
2005 Linda Ganzini, MD, MPH, FAPM
2004 Harvey M. Chochinov, MD, PhD, FRCP(C), FAPM
2003 William S. Breitbart, MD, FAPM
2002 Constantine G. Lyketsos, MD, FAPM
2001 Michael C. Sharpe, MD, FAPM
2000 Thomas P. Beresford, MD, FAPM
1999 Robert G. Robinson, MD, FAPM
1998 James L. Levenson, MD, FAPM
1997 Paula T. Trzepacz, MD, FAPM
1996 David R. Rubinow, MD
1995 Joel E. Dimsdale, MD
1994 Roger G. Kathol, MD, FAPM
1993 Wayne J. Katon, MD, FAPM

Nominations for the Katon Research Award may be made by the candidates themselves or by others on their behalf. Nominations are submitted online using the Katon Research Award Nomination Form, which must be received by April 1.

Criteria for the Award. The nominee should be an active scientist in psychosomatics but does not need to be a psychiatrist. The scientific work of the nominee should be predominantly clinically focused. Note that the award is not a lifetime achievement award, and contributions to APM are not a factor in the selection of the recipient. An individual may receive this award only once.

Grading of Candidates. The APM Research Subcommittee reviews the submissions and grades the candidates on the following:

bulletOriginal research papers published, particularly as first/last author, in high-impact, peer-reviewed journals.

bulletBeing the principal investigator on grants, with federal grants receiving the most weight.

bulletImportance of research contributions to the field of psychosomatics.

bulletMentorship of junior investigators in psychosomatic medicine.

bulletEffective dissemination of research findings to change policy or practice.

To apply or recommend an individual for the Katon Research Award, fill out and submit online the Katon Research Award Nomination Form by April 1.

   2011 Research Committee Chair Michael Sharpe with 2011 Research Award recipient Andrea DiMartini

Kimberly Yonkers, MD, received the 2015 award from Michael Sharpe, MD, FAPM, chair of the APM Research Subcommittee, at the Annual Meeting in New Orleans, LA.

Michael Sharpe, Jesse Fann

Jesse R. Fann, MD, MPH, FAPM (left), received the 2014 Research Award from Michael Sharpe, MD, FAPM at the Annual Meeting in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Michael Sharpe, Scott Thombs

Michael Sharpe, MD, FAPM (left), presented the 2013 Research Award to Brett Thombs, PhD at the Annual Meeting in Tucson, AZ.

Scott Kim, Linda Ganzini

Scott Kim, MD, PhD, received the 2012 Research Award from Linda Ganzini, MD, FAPM, chair of the 2012 Research Committee, at the Annual Meeting in Atlanta, GA.

Home  •  About  •  Join  •  Members  •  News  •  Annual Meeting  •  Career  •  Education  •  Support

© Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine
JavaScript menu courtesy of Milonic.com