APM logo: click to return home Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine
Psychiatrists Providing Collaborative Care Bridging Physical and Mental Health

Home > Awards > Webb Fellowship

Webb Fellowship Program

How to Apply

The Webb Fellowship Program is designed to support a select number of outstanding advanced residents and fellows in psychosomatic medicine at an early stage in their career.

William Logan Webb, Jr., MD
Dr. William Logan Webb, from Psycho-

The program is named for William Logan Webb, Jr., MD, FAPM, president of APM 1986-87. Dr. Webb had an impressive career in PM/C-L and was among the early strong advocates of the subspecialty designation of psychosomatic medicine. He was involved in the study of pain, became an international authority in psychiatric ethics, was a highly respected teacher, and participated in symposia concerning coping mechanisms in sick physicians. When terminally ill in New York City, he eagerly became an interviewee for medical students. In 1991, Dr. Webb was awarded the Distinguished Service Medal of the American College of Psychiatrists.

Dr. Webb passed away in December 1992 at age 62. For more information about his career and impact on APM, please see Dr. Webb's obituary [PDF] in the May 1993 issue of Psychosomatics, authored by M.J. Martin, MD, FAPM, president of APM 1973-74.

Purpose of the Webb Fellowship Program

The Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine has created the William Webb Fellowship Program to foster the career development and leadership potential of advanced psychiatry residents and psychosomatic medicine fellows via:

  1. Mentorship. Each Fellow will have two designated mentors: one from their sponsoring institution and one from the APM.
  2. Networking. Each Fellow will be provided structured and supervised involvement in the national PM organization, APM.
  3. Sustained involvement. Each Fellow will be substantively involved in significant ongoing APM projects.
  4. Affirmation and consolidation of professional identity. Each Fellow will experience collegial interactions via APM and through exclusive Webb Fellowship educational experiences.

As leading PM psychiatrists of the future, Webb Fellows will be especially well positioned to play key roles in educating non-psychiatric physicians who treat patients with psychiatric disorders.

The Webb Fellowship Experience

Webb Fellowships are one-year appointments. Each Fellow will have a designated APM mentor in addition to their institutional mentor. The institutional mentors will typically be PM faculty psychiatrists at the Fellows' home institutions. The APM mentors will be senior established members of the Academy.

Annual Meeting Attendance
Fellows will be expected to attend the annual meeting of the APM at the beginning and at the end of their year as a Webb Fellow. They will participate in a variety of activities, including:

2009-2010 Webb Fellows
E. Sherwood Brown, MD, PhD, FAPM (top left) presented 2016-2017 Webb Fellowship awards to: (top row) Drs. Mario Caro, Jennifer Erickson, and Nathaniel Sowa; and (bottom row) Drs. Neeta Shenai, Deanna Chaukos, and Katherine Blackwell.
  • Present a paper at the Annual Meeting
  • Reception in their honor
  • Recognition during the Awards Luncheon
  • Presentation of Fellow's research during the Fellow's second APM Annual Meeting
  • Research training activities
  • Relevant committee assignments
  • Special activities and projects with APM mentors
  • APM collaborations with other national organizations

Financial Support

  • The Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine will underwrite each Fellow's organizational membership for one year and annual meeting registration fee.
  • Support of attendance of the Academy annual meeting at the beginning of their Fellowship appointments will be covered by the Fellow's sponsoring (nominating) institution. The sponsoring institution will also provide a mentor for the Fellow.
  • The Academy will underwrite travel costs for the Fellow's attendance at the second annual meeting. This includes coach airfare, hotel, and expenses for meals and incidentals.

2016-17 Katherine Blackwell, MD
Mario Caro, MD
Deanna Chaukos, MD
Jennifer Erickson, MD
Neeta Shenai, MD
Nathaniel Sowa, MD
2015-16 Amritha Bhat, MD
Julia Knight, MD
Thomas McCoy, MD
Andrew Siegel, MD
2014-15 Marra Ackerman, MD
Elie Isenberg-Grzeda, MD, FRCPC
David Kroll, MD
Kathleen Sheehan, MD, PhD
2013-14 Joseph Cerimele, MD
Jennifer Gatchel, MD
Jennifer Kruse, MD
Eric Meyer, MD
2012-13 Shane M. Coleman, MD
Anna L. Dickerman, MD
Sheryl B. Fleisch, MD
Yelizaveta Sher, MD
2011-12 Joan A. Camprodon, MD
Christopher Celano, MD
Eliza (Leeza) M. Park, MD
Felicia K. Wong, MD
2010-11 Scott R. Beach, MD
Lex Denysenko, MD
Laura Kent, MD
Marlynn H. Wei, MD, JD
2009-10 Anne Gross, MD
Jennifer M. Knight, MD
Robert L. Oldham, MD
Kristen J. Somers, MD
2008-09 Christopher Kogut, MD, MSW
Gen Shinozaki, MD
Adrienne Tan, MD, FRCP(C)
Joseph Rasimas, MD, PhD
2007-08 Lucy Epstein, MD
James F. Hammel, MD, MA, MSc (Oxon)
Glendon R Tait, MD, MSc
Christopher White, MD, JD, FCLM
Anna Yusim, MD.
2006-07 Mark V. Bradley, MD
Jason P. Caplan, MD
Stephen E. Nicolson, MD
Sanjeev Sockalingam, MD
2005-06 Ilana M. Braun, MD
Muhamad Aly Rifai, MD
2004-05 Felicia A. Smith, MD
David A. Straker, DO
2003-04 David B. Bekelman, MD, MPH
Rebecca W. Brendel, MD, JD
2002-03 Cynthia M. A. Geppert, MD, PhD
Jeff C. Huffman, MD
2001-02 Donna T. Chen, MD, MPH
Scott C. Matthews, MD
Olivia I. Okereke, MD
Ajay D. Wasan, MD
2000-01 Andrew J. Elliott, MD
David A. Fedoronko, MD
Catherine Lager, MD
Richard W. Malis, MD
1999-2000 C. Michael Collins, MD, PhD
Bezalel Dantz, MD
Oliver Freudenreich, MD
Karl J. Looper, MD
1998-99 Lydia Chwastiak, MD
Paul Ciechanowski, MD
Linda Mah, MD
Ati Yates, MD
1997-98 June Cai, MD
Melissa Frumin, MD
Michael S. Jaffee, MD
Judith S. Kastenberg, MD
Ruta M. Nonacs, MD, PhD
1996-97 David B. Arciniegas, MD, FAPM
Caroline P. Carney-Doebbeling, MD, FAPM
L. Lee Tynes, MD, PhD, FAPM
Bernard Vaccaro, MD
1995-96 Terry B. Chisholm, MD
Megan M. Dwight, MD
Isabel T. Lagomasino, MD
Jürgen Unützer, MD
1994-95 Dara A. Charney, MD
Donald L. Rosenstein, MD, FAPM
Kurt D. Ackerman, MD, PhD
Jesse R. Fann, MD, MPH
Daniel C. Mierlak, MD, PhD


How to Apply for the Webb Fellowship Program

The Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine welcomes your application to the William Webb Fellowship Program. To be considered, you must:

  • Be an advanced psychiatry resident (PGY-3 and later) or PM fellow. Psychiatrists who have recently (within one year) completed fellowship training in PM may also apply.
  • Submit the online William Webb Fellowship Application, which includes questions for your major areas of interest, your plans and goals, how the fellowship will enhance your career development, what support your home institution will provide, and the name of your proposed institution mentor. You must attach your CV.
  • Have no more than two (2) PM faculty members at your home institution submit a recommendation for your candidacy using the online William Webb Fellowship Recommendation form. No more than two recommendations per candidate are permitted.

Annual deadline for application is July 1.

Sponsoring institutions may nominate more than one applicant, but only one applicant can be selected from an institution.

To top of page

Home  •  About  •  Join  •  Members  •  News  •  Annual Meeting  •  Career  •  Education  •  Support

© Academy of Psychosomatic Medicine
JavaScript menu courtesy of Milonic.com